Happy New Year

By: whenthecatisasleep

Jan 07 2012

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Details, Seasons

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.5
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:NIKON D7000

‘Had I not been awake’
by Sheamus Heaney

Had I not been awake I would have missed it,
A wind that rose and whirled until the roof
Pattered with quick leaves off the sycamore

And got me up, the whole of me a-patter,
Alive and ticking like an electric fence:
Had I not been awake I would have missed it,

It came and went so unexpectedly
And almost it seemed dangerously,
Returning like an animal to the house,

A courier blast that there and then
Lapsed ordinary. But not ever
After. And not now.

Sheamus Heaney, Human Chain.

Leave a Reply

